Author Topic: how to create an array  (Read 21636 times)

Nairda Gnieob

how to create an array
« on: July 07, 2009, 01:13:51 PM »
Hi,

ASM newbie here, I want to know how to create an array on the stack.

Basically, in C:
main() {
 int x;
 char array[16];
 x = 3
 function_that_modifies_data(x,array);
}

how would I do that in NASM?

mov eax,3
push eax
push ??? ; what do i push? how do i declare it?
call function_that_modifies_data

Thanks!

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: how to create an array
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2009, 03:58:02 AM »
Well, you've got "array" as a "local" variable - on the stack, as you intend - so it won't have an address that we can tell Nasm at assemble time. We'll have to calculate it at run time with "lea" (load effective address), and push that. (I'm assuming that "array" is equivalent to "&array[0]" in C - makes no sense to pass the array itself as a parameter)

This is *not* the output you'd get from a C compiler, but is intended to be a "simplified" version of what C would do. (a decent compiler would produce faster code, but harder to follow)  I didn't know what to do for a function - not a lot you *can* do with an array of characters and an int except use the int as an index, so I just set "array[x]" to 1. A decent compiler would warn us that we're using "array" uninitialized. Okay, not intended to be useful. A useful function might need a third parameter - number of elements in the array.

; nasm -f elf array.asm
; gcc -o array array.o

global main

section .text
main:
    push ebp
    mov ebp, esp
    sub esp, 20  ; 16 characters and an int
    mov dword [ebp - 4], 3 ; x

lea eax, [ebp - 20]
    push eax
    push dword [ebp - 4]
    add esp, 4 * 2

mov esp, ebp
    pop ebp
    ret

function_that_modifies_data:
    push ebp
    mov ebp, esp

mov eax, [ebp + 8] ; x
    mov ecx, [ebp + 12] ; address of array

mov byte [ecx + eax], 1 ; modify data

mov esp, ebp
    pop ebp
    ret