Author Topic: Instructions Handbook  (Read 8084 times)

Offline Edowyth

Instructions Handbook
« on: February 03, 2010, 01:09:03 PM »
I've had some experience with assembler (a class in college, operating systems, where we were required to write a few very small functions in a MASM-like simplified assembly language) but need more information about the commands given in the documentation command list ... a simple (this function adds the contents of the register and memory location, storing the result in the register) explanation for each type would be sufficient.

Is there a book/available documentation online that anyone knows of that allows for this basic information without regarding the reader as a total newbie to the concepts of assembly languages and modern architectures?

Thanks! ;)

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: Instructions Handbook
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2010, 07:25:36 PM »
Intel and AMD manuals are the authoritative source. At one time, there was an instruction reference as an appendix to the Nasm manual. It became badly outdated when the 64-bit instructions were supported, and as we didn't have anyone willing to maintain it, it was removed - what you find in the Nasm manual now is just a list, no description. I "rescued" that section of the manual, and put it here:

http://home.myfairpoint.net/fbkotler/nasmdocr.html

One of these days, maybe I'll write a "newbie's index" into it, covering the dozen or so most commonly used instructions...

Best,
Frank

Offline Edowyth

Re: Instructions Handbook
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 04:12:58 AM »
Thanks, I'll have a look at the manuals for Intel and AMD...and I'll take a gander at the NASM manual as well.