Author Topic: Is .data reentrant? Is .bss?  (Read 12848 times)

Offline JoeCoder

Is .data reentrant? Is .bss?
« on: June 16, 2011, 09:26:59 PM »
For Linux/UNIX, is it correct .bss is allocated from "heap" at execution time and therefore should be reentrant? What about .data? I would guess it's not since presumably it's part of the executable?

Where is this stuff documented? I'm sorry to be asking non-NASM related questions but I don't know where to find this stuff out since I am new to coding in this environment. Thanks guys.
If you can't code it in assembly, it can't be coded!

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: Is .data reentrant? Is .bss?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2011, 09:49:30 PM »
I don't know about "reentrant" - depends on what you're doing with it, I think. .bss is nominally "uninitialized", but is in fact initialized to zero on startup (this is not the case with .bss in a .com file - otherwise it is, AFAIK). Both .data and .bss are "virtual memory" - unique to your "process", even though another process might share the same addresses.

For "reentrant", I think sys_fork gives you "different" (virtual) memory, but sys_clone shares memory - not sure about that one...

Best,
Frank

Offline Keith Kanios

• Personal Homepage
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2011, 09:58:28 PM »
What precisely do you mean by reentrant? That particular concept is usually determined by how the code/processor accesses volatile data and not the data itself.

For Linux/UNIX, is it correct .bss is allocated from "heap" at execution time and therefore should be reentrant?

Perhaps from the viewpoint that the BSS section is immediately below the Heap.

I am not aware if the BSS section is technically allocated via a brk()/sbrk() equivalent during load... but I think with respect to your reentrancy question, it doesn't matter as the end result is a section of RAM marked as Read/Write and is thus volatile and global within, at least, the current process address space.