Author Topic: does nasm is easy to learn?  (Read 6773 times)

chiwing

does nasm is easy to learn?
« on: July 20, 2005, 05:46:00 PM »
hi, everybody^^
i am a beginner of nasm..
my friend who use nasm 3 years ago said, nasm do not support high grammar, like ".if" , ".endif" .
and it can't handle many predestinated file, if u insist to do so, it will say ' Out of hash space"...
nevertheless, i thought the newer version of nasm compiler may have corrections..
so, i want to ask :
1) does nasm support ".if" , ".endif" now?
2) does nasm can handle many predestinated file now?

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: does nasm is easy to learn?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2005, 06:58:57 PM »
Hi Chiwing,

> i am a beginner of nasm..
> my friend who use nasm 3 years ago said, nasm do not support high grammar, like
> ".if" , ".endif" .

That's true.

> and it can't handle many predestinated file, if u insist to do so, it will say

I have no idea what a "predestinated" file is.

> ' Out of hash space"...

I've never seen this message. Can you provide an example file that triggers it?

> nevertheless, i thought the newer version of nasm compiler may have
> corrections..
> so, i want to ask :
> 1) does nasm support ".if" , ".endif" now?

No. That is, there's no "built in" support for High Level syntax, as you'd find in a High Level compiler. High level constructs can be accomplished by the use of macros, if you feel the need of such things. There are examples in the Manual, or in the "misc/" directory (if you've got the source).

You can find pre-written ".inc" files including such macros, and definitions of constants, structures, etc. for whatever OS you're using - "nagoa+.inc" is a popular one for Windows - the include files with the "asmutils" package are good for Linux, BSD, etc.

> 2) does nasm can handle many predestinated file now?