Author Topic: Printing a null-terminating string  (Read 17429 times)

Offline KittenFace

Printing a null-terminating string
« on: January 09, 2011, 05:13:32 PM »
Hello, there.

I am trying to print out a null-terminating string, and have been through several examples but cant figure it out!

The code I have so far, which will run but no print out anything to the screen, is as follows

Code: [Select]
mov bx , HELLO_MSG
call print_string
jmp $

HELLO_MSG :
db 'Hello , World !', 0

print_string:
push bx
.1:
cmp byte [bx], 0
je .exit
mov al, [bx]
mov ah, 0x0e
int 0x10
inc bx
jmp .1
.exit: pop bx
ret

times 510 -($-$$) db 0
dw 0 xaa55

I am a complete beginner at assembler, and will be quite honest and say that pointers confuse me a bit

thanks in advance for pointing out the obvious problem i've made! :p

Offline the_mart

Re: Printing a null-terminating string
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2011, 07:43:38 PM »
I guess you’re trying to write a boot sector there, and print using the BIOS. The boot sector is loaded by the BIOS at “0000:7C00”, so if the code you pasted is complete, you haven’t loaded the correct segment:offset for your string.

You could fix by putting “ORG 0x7C00” at the top of your code, and zeroing out DS.

Offline KittenFace

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2011, 07:54:24 PM »
i currently have [org 0x7c00] at the top of my program, but didn't include it as i thought that the problems were caused in my print_string function

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2011, 07:12:13 PM »