Author Topic: stack alignment  (Read 21625 times)

Offline dtroyx

stack alignment
« on: July 01, 2010, 10:02:37 AM »
Hi

I'm new to ASM and I've read a lot about stack alignment. But I'm not sure I understand it correctly. This is how I understand it:

bytes you don't really need to align (every address is a correct alignment), words you must put on even addresses, double words must be on multiple of 4 addresses and quad words on multiple of 8's. When you are using SSE instructions you must align on 16 byte addresses.

so now a few examples:
If you want to allocate 10 bytes (for example a char array of 10), you can just do:
Code: [Select]
SUB esp, 10
If you want to allocate space on the stack for a double word, and the esp register contains 0FFF3h, then you first need to align it to an address that is a multiple of 4 and the resulting code should be:
Code: [Select]
SUB esp, 7we reduce it with 3 so the address in esp is a multiple of 4, then we reduce it with 4 to allocate the space for the double word, so in total we need to reduce the esp with 7.

Am I understanding it correctly? Because some tutorials says that you should always align on 4 byte addresses (even if you only need a byte), others says you should always align on 16 byte (but the 16 byte is only for SSE instructions right? So if you aren't going to use them, the 16 byte alignment isn't necessary?) and others don't even mention stack alignment.

Sorry if my English isn't very good, but I hope you understand my question.

Regards,
Philip

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: stack alignment
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 01:46:40 PM »
Hi Philip,

Good question! (Your English is perfect, BTW... but the CPU doesn't speak English anyway)