Author Topic: more macro problems - local variables  (Read 9151 times)

mark allyn

more macro problems - local variables
« on: August 15, 2009, 08:37:58 PM »
Hi everyone -

I can't get the call to _gets in the following macro to run:extern _gets
   extern _fflush
   ;extern _getchar
_adder2:
   %push mycontext
   %stacksize flat
   %assign %$localsize 8
   %local locnum:dword
   %local charbuf:dword
   enter %$localsize, 0
   mov dword [locnum], __float32__ (40.20)
   fld dword [locnum]

push charbuf      ;line 156  error - invalid operand type
   call _gets   

add esp, 4
   leave
   ret
   %pop

As you can see, the code fails on the push instruction.  I am pretty new to macros, and I guess I just need a bit of guidance on doing this.  

Thanks to everyone,
Mark Allyn

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: more macro problems - local variables
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2009, 11:49:28 PM »
Please don't use gets.

The syntax you want is "push dword [charbuf]" ("charbuf" is ebp + ???), but you appear to be using it uninitialized.

But, really, please don't use gets. The accursed "professionals" make enough buffer overruns for the creeps to exploit!

Best,
Frank

mark allyn

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2009, 12:07:21 PM »
Hi Frank.

First, thanks for the reply.

I'm still pulling my hair out, however.  I have tried your syntax.  The problem seems to be traceable to the declaration of charbuf as a local variable.  If charbuf is declared outside the text of this subroutine and located in the [section .bss], the version I sent you is assembled fine (it has a different problem).  If charbuf is declared as a local variable, however, the code does not assemble and I get the message you saw.

This brings me to a maybe more fundamental point about local variables.  As you can see, I made charbuf in the code I sent a local dword.  Suppose, however, I wanted to declare charbuf as a buffer of N bytes (as I would and could in a C subroutine, i. e. char charbuf[80] ; ).