Author Topic: Array and Loops  (Read 5621 times)

Offline captainamerica

Array and Loops
« on: October 06, 2018, 04:32:19 PM »
Hi, So i am new to NASM, and I am trying to add the contents of two arrays and place those contents in another array. I just want to know how do i store the third array onto a stack if i already used esi and edi for the first two arrays. Also, so for what I have done is add the two arrays in loop with esi and edi and placed those contents into AL since they are bytes. But how do I get the third array that is filled with 0s to increment to the next integer so that the sum of each elements can go in there? i just have
Code: [Select]
mov bl, [Array3] but that will only hit the first element of the six. How do i traverse through this array if I am already using and incrementing esi and edi for array 1 and 2.
Sorry if that didn't make sense.

Also, my teacher has his own function library like Irvine32 but for linux. To print an array he has a function to call but would I have to call it inside the loop?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 06, 2018, 04:43:13 PM by captainamerica »

Offline dreamCoder

Re: Array and Loops
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2018, 05:11:08 PM »
Show some code so that I/we can get a clue of the 'direction' you're taking. For example, how do you use ESI / EDI in addressing the arrays and stuff. I don't trust beginners with the registers. It could be a dword while implying a byte etc.

For simple additions to the third array (based on what you're telling) it could be something like so;

mov al,byte[Array1]
mov bl,byte[Array2]
add al,bl
mov byte[Array3],al

Offline captainamerica

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2018, 05:14:06 PM »
Okay, this is my code for it
Code: [Select]
        I erased my code so that It wouldnt look like i was plagiarizing
« Last Edit: October 06, 2018, 06:34:52 PM by captainamerica »

Offline dreamCoder

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2018, 05:26:54 PM »