Author Topic: syscall_exit doesn't seem to work  (Read 7816 times)

Offline Demented

syscall_exit doesn't seem to work
« on: October 16, 2017, 07:41:07 AM »
Hi everyone!
I'm very new to assembler but I'm having fun learning as I go.
However, I'm facing a weird problem. My program doesn't seem to exit. Here's the code:

Code: [Select]
section .data
msg1 db "Jump successful",0x0a
msg2 db "No jump occured",0x0a

len1 equ $-msg1
len2 equ $-msg2

section .text
global _start

_start:
mov dx,10
cmp dx,10
je _success

mov eax,4
mov ebx,1
mov ecx,msg2
mov edx,len2
int 0x80

mov eax,1
int 0x80

_success:
mov eax,4
mov ebx,1
mov ecx,msg1
mov edx,len1
int 0x80

mov eax,1
int 0x80

What I expect to happen is that after I've compared dx with 10, it jumps to 'sucessful', prints the message and exists.
What it actual does is:
$nasm -g -F dwarf -f elf64 test.asm; ld -m elf_x86_64 -o test.out test.o
$./test.out
Jump successful
No jump occured

Why is that? I'm not new to programming, but new to assembler. I'm expecting the program to exit, not to return to the rest of the program after jumping.

I'd appreciate if anyone has an idea.
Thanks!

Offline dreamCoder

Re: syscall_exit doesn't seem to work
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2017, 09:23:56 AM »
Not on linux right now, but in assembly, a function return uses "ret". Except for tha main or start where it uses "exit" to system.

Offline Demented

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2017, 11:05:37 AM »
Hi, thanks for your reply.
I'm not sure if you got me right. I'm not trying to return from a function, I'm trying to end the program from within a function. Although I'm calling syscall_exit, it doesn't work as intended. Instead of ending the program after I called mov eax,1 and int 0x80, the program jumps back and continues with the rest of the code.

Thanks!

Offline dreamCoder

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2017, 01:42:55 PM »
Demented