Author Topic: exercise in book is wrong  (Read 10298 times)

Offline spongefreddie

• More characters for our signatures!!!
exercise in book is wrong
« on: August 30, 2017, 02:31:28 AM »
Hi,
I'm brand new to assembly, and I'm using Jeff Duntemann's "Assembly Language Step-by-Step" as my first text book. I'm running Manjaro 17.0 Cinnamon (kernel 4.9.44-1-MANJARO). I've installed NASM as the book suggested, and that all worked fine. I'm not new to Linux, so no terminal issues.

The problem is I encountered an "expression syntax error" in the very first sample program. The debugger indicated that this was the offending line (line 3):

EatMsg: db “Eat at Joe’s!“,10

I've been doing a lot of searching and found one page where someone was asking a similar question and the person who answered said something about NASM changing from the time Duntemann wrote his first edition. I'm using the 3rd edition.

I was just wondering if anyone could explain what's wrong with his code, because I sure couldn't say at this point in my assembly education. Here's the full program:

SECTION .data

EatMsg: db “Eat at Joe’s!“,10
   EatLen: equ $-EatMsg

SECTION .bss

SECTION .text
   global _start

_start:
      nop
      mov eax,4
      mov ebx,1
      mov ecx,EatMsg
      mov edx,EatLen
      int 80H

mov eax,1
      mov ebx,0
      int 80H

Any help would be much appreciated, thank you. I'm a bit discouraged that the very first program's syntax isn't correct.

sf

Dev: NASM 2.11.08, Kate as IDE

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: exercise in book is wrong
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 03:35:04 AM »
Hi spongefreddie,

Welcome to the Forum.