Author Topic: Learning about the fundamentals of cpu  (Read 8387 times)

Offline Rob0Tix

Learning about the fundamentals of cpu
« on: July 23, 2016, 02:53:30 PM »
I am fairly new to assembly language but not new to programming in general. I will be looking over some machine organization books, but I decided to look ahead at cpu core emulation. I found some material on the internet which got me up to speed on emulator programming, but I came to a very important question. At least I have not found detailed explanation of this yet, which is why I am here to ask.

At the most fundamental level, what is the minimal necessary Instruction set that needs to be implemented in a cpu core, for it to be able to functionally execute a program. I understand that the assembler is on top of machine code, so for example in DOS, the assembler introduces Interrupts to allow for more complex programming. However, before there is the assembler and interrupts for the operating system, there is simply the cpu and machine code. Initially when computers were first designed, the programs that they ran had to be built on top of simply a cpu and whatever else hardware.
I'm trying to get as much detailed information on this as I possibly can, so I can have a better structural understanding of both the computer and especially how a cpu functions.

Can anyone here go into detail on this or provide a link to documentation that can help me better understand this question?

Offline Bryant Keller

• Forum Moderator
    • About Bryant Keller
Re: Learning about the fundamentals of cpu
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2016, 05:36:55 AM »