Author Topic: Getting C Structure Fields in Assembly  (Read 7209 times)

Offline js19

Getting C Structure Fields in Assembly
« on: March 27, 2016, 06:02:55 PM »
My program is suppose to fill in a structure of a book (author, title, subject, year) store it in a pointer, use assembly to access the structure and compare the year.

In my C code:
Code: [Select]
struct book {
char author[20 + 1];   
char title[32 + 1];
char subject[10 + 1];
unsigned int year;             
};

In my assembly code:
        mov ebx, [book1]
mov ecx, [book2]
holds the book pointers.
How do I go about accessing book1->year in assembly? I've tried something like mov edi, [esp + 21] and get nothing.
Thanks!

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: Getting C Structure Fields in Assembly
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2016, 08:52:43 PM »
Hi js19,

I'm afraid I'm not very good at C. I don't follow the reasoning for:
mov edi, [esp + 21]
What's on the stack? Why 21? What do you mean by "nothing"? edi is zero?

I would expect "year" to be 65 bytes into the structure (although C can align it as it wishes, I think). I'd take a wild-asmed guess at:
mov ebx, [book1] ; how is "book1" defined?
mov eax, [ebx + 65]
but you might have to dereference the pointer:
mov ebx, [book1]
; or maybe mov ebx, book1?
mov ebx, [ebx]
mov eax, [ebx + 65]

Perhaps you could compile your C code with the "-S" switch and see if C will confess where it has put things?

Maybe someone who knows C will come along, or try posting more of your code. Good luck!

Best,
Frank

Offline Bryant Keller

• Forum Moderator
    • About Bryant Keller
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2016, 02:30:03 AM »
Hey js19,

My program is suppose to fill in a structure of a book (author, title, subject, year) store it in a pointer, use assembly to access the structure and compare the year.

I'm not sure about how your class deals with this stuff, but NASM does actually support structures.

In my C code:
struct book {
char author[20 + 1];   
char title[32 + 1];