Author Topic: Is there really no way to learn asm from a beginner's level?  (Read 45961 times)

Offline Bryant Keller

• Forum Moderator
    • About Bryant Keller
Re: Is there really no way to learn asm from a beginner's level?
« Reply #45 on: March 11, 2015, 11:53:10 PM »
It's not that it's "poorly implemented", it's just difficult to deal with. There was no universal standard for how to implement the internals of the language so compiler writers are allowed a bit of freedom in implementation details.

About Bryant Keller
bkeller@about.me

Offline flatcircuit

Re: Is there really no way to learn asm from a beginner's level?
« Reply #46 on: October 10, 2015, 11:55:22 PM »
I'm new here and I did not read every post here, but I'm new to assembly and had a similar question. Let me extend your question and answer it.

If you are an absolute beginner, the difficulty you might have with assembler is the logic or process of writing functions and algorithms, which are always simple in high level languages. In assembly language, the programming construct is super simple, you need to understand addressing and basically jumping around in memory. The tough part at least for me was as I said, finding logic to finally realize an actual program.

Quick answer. this link http://www.plantation-productions.com/Webster/ is to a website of an assembly language teacher in a university. His latest book is very different from standard assembly language, but his DOS 16/bit book is exactly what you are looking for if you use NASM or similar assemblers. The book does not teach NASM, but teaches the mathematics and the logic of writing assembly language programs. It teaches from the ground up and has everything you need. Then you can just jump to 32 bit and 64 bit. That should be so obvious, that if you can't jump to 32 or 64 bit after that text, then you should go over it again.