Author Topic: Read input number as string and display it  (Read 6843 times)

Offline jackstobbart

Read input number as string and display it
« on: September 21, 2014, 05:00:04 PM »
Good day,

I'm new to NASM and have been trying to read input from a user (a 2 digit number) and then display it.
This is what I have so far:

Code: [Select]
bits 16
org 0x100;
jmp main ;

buf: db 2,0,'$'

cr_lf:
db 13,10,'$' ; carriage return and line feed

main:
mov ah,0ah         ; accept string from user
mov dx,buf         ; address for string
int 21h ;

mov ah,09         ; display string
mov dx,cr_lf ; display carriage return and line feed
int 21h ;

mov ah,09    ; display string
mov dx,buf        ; display string starting from address of buf
int 21h ;

int 20h ;

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: Read input number as string and display it
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2014, 06:25:17 PM »
It has been a while since I've done DOS, and my memory isn't what it was. I think your input buffer is too small. First byte is "maximum" - as I recall, it needs to include the CR which will end input. Try it with 2, but I think you're going to want 3. Second byte will be filled in with the number of bytes actually entered. 0 is good there. Then you want at least 2 - I think 3 - zeros before your '$' to hold the input text (and the CR). When you want to display it, the input text will start at "buf + 2". I think "mov dx, buf" is going to give you a couple of "garbage" characters before your entered text - won't do any great harm.

As a general rule, when you ask for help with code, we need to know what you "expect" to happen (fairly obvious in this case, I think) and what actually happened. I'm guessing that you'll overwrite the "$" which is expected to end output, and will probably see a bunch of "garbage" starting with the first digit you entered.

bits 16
org 0x100;
jmp main ;

buf: db 3,0, 0, 0, 0, '$'

cr_lf:

main:
int 21h ;

int 21h ;