Author Topic: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.  (Read 4517 times)

Offline andreadixon

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« on: January 26, 2014, 06:03:49 PM »
Hi, I have two files I need to right to floppy disk and I was wandering what would be a good program that will make my floppy drive boot when added this files.thanks


Andrea

Offline encryptor256

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 250
  • Country: lv
  • Win64 .
    • On Youtube: encryptor256
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 06:23:43 PM »
Hi!

Just write those two files and see what happens.
Maybe one of those files already contains a bootsector,
and will boot when it's required.

EDIT0:
Hey, maybe one of those files is a malware,
it would be cool if it alters cpu voltage settings,
during a boot,
at set's it to 100.0 V, so, you get a speed boost,
up to 50 Ghz, at least for a milisecond. :D
Well at least it will shutdown very fast with
sparking screensaver effect and zzzZZap sound. :D



« Last Edit: January 26, 2014, 06:30:44 PM by encryptor256 »
Encryptor256's Investigation \ Research Department.

Offline andreadixon

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 06:45:19 PM »
Hi, thanks for the replay, dose it make a differents if I'm running windows 8.1 64bit, I have changed my boot up to floppy and then CD then hard drive.

Offline encryptor256

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 250
  • Country: lv
  • Win64 .
    • On Youtube: encryptor256
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2014, 06:54:10 PM »
dose it make a differents if I'm running windows 8.1 64bit

No, it doesn't make a difference.

I have changed my boot up to floppy and then CD then hard drive.

Well, then your boot files doesn't work.
Try other files.
Encryptor256's Investigation \ Research Department.

Offline andreadixon

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2014, 07:01:22 PM »
Its ok I got it working now thanks for your post,

andrea

Offline encryptor256

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 250
  • Country: lv
  • Win64 .
    • On Youtube: encryptor256
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2014, 07:03:42 PM »
Its ok I got it working now thanks for your post,

andrea

Cool! That's nice that you managed to solve your problem!

Encryptor256.
Encryptor256's Investigation \ Research Department.

Offline Bryant Keller

  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 360
  • Country: us
    • About Bryant Keller
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2014, 07:08:49 PM »
Hi, I have two files I need to right to floppy disk and I was wandering what would be a good program that will make my floppy drive boot when added this files.thanks


Andrea

Without knowing what these two files contain or what architecture the floppies will be booted under, I'm not sure if we can help you much. If you want to try and figure it all out on your own but just need to know how to write binary data to a floppy then it's no trouble. There are three programs commonly used for writing an image to floppy disk; MS-DOS debug, rawrite and dd. If we were to ASSume that your bootloader was named `boot.bin` we could insert a formatted floppy disk into the computer and write the file to the bootsector using one of the following commands.

Code: ("Writing to Bootsector with DEBUG") [Select]
C:\>DEBUG boot.bin
- w 100 0 0 1
- q

Code: ("Writing to Bootsector with DD") [Select]
# dd if=boot.bin bs=512 of=/dev/fd0
Code: ("Writing to Bootsector with Rawrite") [Select]
C:\>rawrite
RaWrite 1.2 - Write disk file to raw floppy diskette
Enter source file name: boot.bin
Enter destination drive: A:
Please insert a formatted diskette into drive A: and press -ENTER- :
Number of sectors per track for this disk is 18
Writing image to drive A:. Press ^C to abort.
Track: 16 Head: 1 Sector: 16
Done.

I'm certain this doesn't answer your question, but I hope it does point you in the right direction.

Best of Luck,
Bryant Keller

Its ok I got it working now thanks for your post,

andrea

Oh well, guess you found your solution after all. :D
I'll still post the above in case it helps.

About Bryant Keller
bkeller@about.me

Offline Frank Kotler

  • NASM Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2361
  • Country: us
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2014, 11:39:06 PM »
You got a floppy drive? Cool! That's rare these days, I think.

You mention two files. What's the "other" one? Two different bootsectors or a bootsector and a "second stage" or kernel? Well, doesn't matter if you've got it working, but yeah this is a good place to post the question...

Best,
Frank


Offline andreadixon

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2014, 03:53:55 AM »
Ya thanks everyone it was a issue with my external floppy drive, it had some thing plastic in it, it was not the boot loader or kernel files it was my floppy drive. sorry about that.

Offline Frank Kotler

  • NASM Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2361
  • Country: us
Re: Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this post.
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2014, 06:15:07 AM »
Installer said "insert disk three" but only two would fit... :)

Best,
Frank