Author Topic: question about nasmx inc files  (Read 11861 times)

Offline nullptr

question about nasmx inc files
« on: October 10, 2013, 12:21:00 PM »
Hello,

I'm a bit confused. I'm not very experienced assembly coder. I have downloaded
nasmx and complied some samples from demos folder. They are working fine, but e.g.
demo6.asm is 64 bit and uses inc file form ..\inc\win32 directory. Are 32 bit inc
files matching to 64 bit apps?

And next question:
From where GoLink.exe takes kernel32.lib or user32.lib? Other linkers e.g.
link.exe requries to specify locations of them by includelib directive in file or
by cmd libpath, but they are provided with masm package.

Any ideas?
thanks in advance.

Offline Rob Neff

• Forum Moderator
Re: question about nasmx inc files
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2013, 03:23:40 PM »
Hello,

I'm a bit confused. I'm not very experienced assembly coder. I have downloaded
nasmx and complied some samples from demos folder. They are working fine, but e.g.
demo6.asm is 64 bit and uses inc file form ..\inc\win32 directory. Are 32 bit inc
files matching to 64 bit apps?

NASMX by design enables 32-bit and 64-bit programming for a multitude of operating systems.  Rather than maintaining two separate include files we detect the bit-ness specified on the command line via the "nasm -f" switch and create an appropriate environment.  The Win32 subdirectory name is simply a relic of years gone by and should not be mis-interpreted as 32-bit Windows only.

And next question:
From where GoLink.exe takes kernel32.lib or user32.lib? Other linkers e.g.
link.exe requries to specify locations of them by includelib directive in file or
by cmd libpath, but they are provided with masm package.

Any ideas?
thanks in advance.