Author Topic: Calling Standards  (Read 8734 times)

Offline iVision

Calling Standards
« on: July 23, 2013, 08:59:37 AM »
Hello I'm new to assembly and I picked NASM. And I like it alot :) However I noticed that I forgot to cleanup the stack. So I'm wondering what is the recommend way to this? By adding 8 to the esp or (as the __stdcall) ret 8? (In a function with two parameters of course :P)
And (I didn't read the whole docs) would you save registers before or in the function?

Code: [Select]
; Parameters: int a, int b
; Returns: a % b

modulus:
push ebp
mov ebp, esp

push ecx
push edx

xor edx, edx
mov eax, [ebp + 8] ;a
mov ecx, [ebp + 12] ;b

div ecx ;edx holds remainder (a % b)
mov eax, edx ;return remainder

pop edx
pop ecx

mov esp, ebp
pop ebp

ret 8
;modulus

In this code I use ret 8 and save registers in the function. Is this the recommend way to do this or..?

I'm programming on Windows 8 btw.

Regards

Offline encryptor256

• Win64 .
    • On Youtube: encryptor256
Re: Calling Standards
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 10:16:09 AM »
Hey!

"Is this the recommend way to do this or..?"

Assassins creed protocol states: "Nothing is true, everything is permitted". :D

I usualy use RET X, to clean up stack.
But cleaning stack after function call, can be usable too,
for example, like pointers, or vectors, require more operations on the same parameters.

Lets say, push vector, call function vector.normalize, then dont push again, just call next funtion on the same stack parameters, the same vector, like dot product or else.

Cleaning stack after function call, those stack entries could server as a place holders.
MAYBE. :)

Worst case scenario, would be if you forget about cleaning stack generaly, ... w...what? why do i need to clean stack. :D

Encryptor256's Investigation \ Research Department.

Offline iVision

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 02:41:29 PM »
Okay thanks for response! So its more like user choice and not any recommend thing to follow? That seems nice:)