Author Topic: Debian Newbie has FIVE questions  (Read 7557 times)

nobody

Debian Newbie has FIVE questions
« on: March 24, 2006, 06:38:16 PM »
Hi all.

A debian user here. I am new to both NASM and assembly. So please bear with me here.

Wrote a program to try to capture 2 user inputs, add them up, and output to screen.

MOV DX, 0060H   ;prepare keyboard
IN EAX, DX      ;get user input #1
MOV EBX, EAX    ;save input #1 to EBX
MOV DX, 0060H   ;prepare keyboard
IN EAX, DX      ;get user input #2
ADD EAX, EBX    ;add input #1 to #2
;OUT xxxxxx      ;output result to monitor screen
RET            

ok...i used >cat /proc/ioports to check out the IO address of my keyboard. Its listed as 0060-006f : keyboard. Hence I used it in my code, by moving the address to DX, then invoking IN.

QUESTION 1: am i doing the right thing?
QUESTION 2: How about outputting to screen? I dunno the IOPORT of my monitor. How can I check?
QUESTION 3: Are there any other ways to port to screen?

I saved my program as add.asm. Then I tried to compile by typing:
>nasm -f elf add.asm

It generated a file add.o

QUESTION 4: What do I do with this file? Do I try to link it? May I know what command to use?

QUESTION 5: What file do I finally run it?

Mighty thanks. I just need to get started. Will appreciate any help.

*Debiabie*

nobody

Re: Debian Newbie has FIVE questions
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2006, 01:02:02 AM »
Well... "add eax, ebx" is right... Otherwise... no, you're not "doin' it right". :) You'd have to get "permission" to access the keyboard ports, and then... An interrupt is generated when a key is pressed - or released - and has to be "handled". Some keys result in more than one byte at port 60h, and in any case, the value read there would have to be translated (via lookup table) to get an ascii character value out of it. Really not the way you want to do it.