Author Topic: Tools for learning “The Art of Intel X86 Assembly”  (Read 11742 times)

Offline Amumu

Tools for learning “The Art of Intel X86 Assembly”
« on: June 10, 2013, 04:12:39 PM »
Although I studied a Computer Organization course in my college, I want to study Assembly (and related concepts) rigorously using this old book "The ARt of Intel X86 Assembly": http://www.ic.unicamp.br/~pannain/mc404/aulas/pdfs/Art%20Of%20Intel%20x86%20Assembly.pdf. Do you know how to get start on Linux? Is NASM a good choice for this? If I want to incorporate UCR Standard Library: http://www.plantation-productions.com/Webster/www.artofasm.com/DOS/Software.html in my code, do I have to compile the library first?

I want my code to run on a Linux VM (Virtual Box). Is this possible or it must be the native code of my machine?

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: Tools for learning “The Art of Intel X86 Assembly”
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2013, 07:57:39 PM »
Well... this is a fairly complicated question, Amumu!

As you know, the 16-bit version of AoA is "old", and for dos. It might be like trying to learn automotive repair using a Model A repair manual. The pistons still go up and down, but practically everything else has changed. Dos isn't going to be making that "comeback" that some of us were hoping for. As an OS, dos is pretty lame. This has an advantage, in that dos allows direct access to the hardware, which no protected-mode OS will let you do. Dos won't "help" you much, but it won't get in your way, either. To maximize this advantage, I'd install "real dos" on a separate partition, rather than count on an emulator to get it right... but maybe I'm just suspicious of emulators. I have not been able to install dosbox on my systen (a long story). You mention on SO that you tried dosbox but it "didn't work". In what way did it not work? (I can't help you, but perhaps others can)