Author Topic: Linking against kernel32.dll with win32 format  (Read 10910 times)

Offline edwardcarlfox

Linking against kernel32.dll with win32 format
« on: August 12, 2012, 02:33:24 PM »
Hello, I am new to NASM, and I just started programming with it a bit. So far, I did some samples, using the obj format and the alink to link against kernel32.dll. In the codes I use the import and extern keywords. So they are all fine.

But then now I want to do the same but using the win32 format. In this format I cannot use import in the code, so I just state extern. Then I use the link program coming along with VS2010 to link it directly against kernel32.dll, but no matter how I did, the external symbols in the code cannot be resolved. I tried to change the names (i.e. ReadConsole to _ReadConsole@20), but no luck.

So does anyone know how to do this? So again the point is, I want to output the win32 format and use the link program from VS2010 to link against a dll directly.

Thanks in advanced!

Offline Mathi

• Win32NASM
Re: Linking against kernel32.dll with win32 format
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 06:50:48 PM »
Taking help from the below thread,
http://forum.nasm.us/index.php?topic=778.0

I have written a program to read a line and output that to the screen(console) using nasm and link.exe
Hope this helps.

Code: [Select]
;;linkdemo.asm
;;
;;Assemble with :   nasm -f win32 -Ox -o linkdemo.obj linkdemo.asm
;;link with     :   link /ENTRY:main /SUBSYSTEM:console /MACHINE:X86 kernel32.lib linkdemo.obj

%include "win32n.inc"
extern _GetStdHandle@4
extern _ReadConsoleA@20
extern _ExitProcess@4
extern _WriteConsoleA@20
extern _FlushConsoleInputBuffer@4

global main

segment .bss USE32

Buffer resb 8192
numIn resd 1
numWritten resd 1
segment .data USE32

hConsIn dd 0
hConsOut dd 0
nNumberOfCharsToRead dd 8192

segment .code USE32 class=code

main:

push dword STD_INPUT_HANDLE   ;;Get Input handle
call _GetStdHandle@4
mov [hConsIn],eax