Author Topic: MASM to NASM  (Read 10756 times)

Offline brunoffreire

MASM to NASM
« on: July 30, 2012, 02:38:39 AM »
Hello friends.

I got an win obj file, reverse engineering it with IDA and now I am trying to convert it to Linux so file using NASM programming. So basically I am converting from MASM to NASM.
I am no expert in assembler programming but I did make some progress. However, there are a piece of code tha is taking my sleep hours. Can some one help me with that?
What I want is that some one could explain me the following code, so I understand what is going on, besides teaching me who to translate it to NASM.

The code piece:

_MyProc:

loc_77C:
xor   eax, eax
mov   al, cl
and   eax, 1Fh
cmp   eax, ebx
jg   loc_8B8
and   ecx, 0E0h
add   ecx, 0FFFFFF80h
cmp   ecx, 60h ; '`'
ja   short $L2520
movzx   ecx, ds:$L2973[ecx]   ;;HERE!!!!!  (Note the "ds:$L2973[ecx] ")
jmp   ds:$L2979[ecx*4]              ;;AND HERE!!!!!  (The movzx instruction is clear to me. The operands are my problem. I dont understand the syntax..)

_MyProc endp
Little further I have:

align 10h
$L2979 dd offset $L2501  ;; (THE SAME $L2979)
dd offset $L2506
dd offset $L2498
dd offset $L2495
dd offset $L2520
$L2973 db 0
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 1
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 2
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 4
add   al, 3
_text ends

Thanks in advance.

Bruno

Offline Gunner

• Gunners Software
Re: MASM to NASM
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2012, 04:03:08 AM »