Author Topic: sys_write confusion  (Read 9797 times)

Offline Gunner

• Gunners Software
sys_write confusion
« on: July 23, 2012, 01:37:52 AM »
I have been using MASM to write programs for over 10 years so I am not new to this, what I am new to is Linux.  Feel like a newb all over again.

Before anyone says just link and use the C functions, I will get to that after I understand what "goes on down here" in Linux.

So to create a buffer dynamically, we need to call sys_brk with ebx = 0 to get the address of the end of our data section.  Then we call it again with a size.  So, why does this still work with the second call to sys_brk commented out?
Code: [Select]
SECTION     .bss
New_Break   resd    1
lpBuffer    resb    12

Org_Break   resd    1

SECTION     .text
global      _start

_start:

mov     ebx, 0
    mov     eax, sys_brk
    int     80H
    mov     [New_Break], eax
    ;~ push    eax

push    eax
    call    PrintNum

;~ pop     eax
    ;~
    ;~ add     eax, 5
    ;~ mov     ebx, eax
    ;~ mov     eax, sys_brk
    ;~ int     80H
    ;~ mov     edi, eax
    ;~ push    eax
    ;~ call    PrintNum

mov     edx, [New_Break]
    mov     dword [ecx], "ABCD"
    mov     byte [ecx +4], 10

mov     edx, 5
    mov     eax, sys_write
    mov     ebx, stdout
    int     80H

mov     ebx, Org_Break
    mov     eax, sys_brk
    int     80H
    push    eax
    call    PrintNum

Exit: 
    mov     eax, sys_exit
    xor     ebx, ebx
    int     80H

and the output:
gunner@LinuxDevel ~/Desktop/asm/projects/memalloc $ ./memalloc
ABCD

Offline Bryant Keller

• Forum Moderator
    • About Bryant Keller
Re: sys_write confusion
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 02:49:55 AM »