Author Topic: pinsrb invalid combination of opcode and operands  (Read 9703 times)

Offline pmonday

pinsrb invalid combination of opcode and operands
« on: May 23, 2011, 04:04:25 PM »
Alright, I will admit, I'm new to NASM and compiling someone else's code that is not compiling so I'm here debugging it.

This looks like a common problem as I wander the forums, many errors on a compile that show:
routines64.asm:955: error: invalid combination of opcode and operands

These all point to pinsrb instructions in the code.  There are two things this could be, as far as I can see:
- my toolset is out of date, I'm stuck on NASM 2.0 due to CentOS not liking GLIBC_2_7 (even 5.6 seems to have 2_5)
- I'm hoping it's not the above and this is simply a portability issue

The blocks of code the compiler is not digesting relates to an attempt to write values into a vector register (I guess):
;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; Name:         Register8ToVector
; Purpose:      Writes 8-bit main register values into 128-bit vector register
;               without clearing the unused bits.
; Params:       rdi = loops
;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Register8ToVector:
_Register8ToVector:
        sal     rdi, 2          ; Force some repetition.
.L1:
        pinsrb  xmm1, al, 0
        pinsrb  xmm2, bl, 1
        pinsrb  xmm3, cl, 2
        pinsrb  xmm1, dl, 3
        pinsrb  xmm2, sil, 4
        pinsrb  xmm3, dil, 5
        pinsrb  xmm0, bpl, 6
        pinsrb  xmm0, spl, 7

Similar (but not equal) pins instructions work fine so I'm wondering if this is some sort of size issue ('pinsrq xmm1, r8, 0' compiles cleanly).

Ugh, I feel like a newbie ...

Paul Monday

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: pinsrb invalid combination of opcode and operands
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2011, 05:31:16 PM »