Author Topic: Confusion about labels  (Read 6227 times)

Offline clem55

Confusion about labels
« on: April 05, 2011, 05:51:35 PM »
Hi. I'm new to assembly programming.

I have a question about labels.

Code: [Select]
section .text
global _start
_start:
nop
.again:
call _writeHello
jmp .again

_writeHello:
mov eax, 4
mov ebx, 1
mov ecx, buf
mov edx, len
int 0x80
ret

section .data

buf: db 'Hello World!', 10
len: equ $-buf

If I assemble this code and them use gdb to disassemble the _start procedure, the following output is produced:
(gdb) disassemble _start
Dump of assembler code for function _start:
   0x08048080 <+0>:   nop
End of assembler dump.

which implies that the function _start ends at the nop instruction, before the .again label. Why does this happen? I was expecting that call and jmp instructions to be included in the _start procedure. Do labels mark the ending of the previous function and beginning of another?

What's the correct code to mark a particular address in the code to jump to later?

Thank You.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 08:00:25 PM by clem55 »

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: Confusion about labels
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 10:56:31 PM »
What's the correct code to mark a particular address in the code to jump to later?

Labels. I don't think you're confused about labels - you seem to be using them correctly. You might be confused about gdb (I know I am!), or gdb might be confused about labels. An observation: gdb seems not to like Nasm's "local label" syntax - if we use a '.', gdb seems to think we're using a structure. It recognizes ".again:" as a label (apparently), but:

(gdb) disassemble .again

gives a syntax error. Okay, the "true name" of that label would be "_start.again"...

(gdb) disassemble _start.again

"Attempt to extract a component of a value that is not a structure"

So I guess the "workaround" is: "You can use local labels, but don't expect to tell gdb about 'em."

(gdb) help disassemble