Author Topic: Character Pointers - Total Noob  (Read 11946 times)

Offline pprocacci

Character Pointers - Total Noob
« on: April 07, 2010, 08:11:50 AM »
Hello all,

I'm new to assembly and Frank was very helpful in my initial posting to the nasm-users mailing list, pointing me in this direction for further information.  All have been very helpful.  However in contiuing my learning experience I am having a really rough time trying to understand how to write to memory locations to addresses passed to subroutines on the stack.  I have a very brief example that I will provide, and if someone cares to point out specifically why this doesn't work, please let me know.  I'm assuming it has to do with alignment or something, but I'm not well versed and not sure if that is the proper terminology.  Without further adeiu, I am trying to mimic the bzero c library function available in all POSIX compliant machines.  This is for self educational purposes only to help me understand the basics.  I understand the C language quite well as it's what I'm most familiar with, but would like to explore asm in more depth.  Thanks in advance!

# C Prototype
void bzero(char *addr, unsigned int);

#############################
section .text
global bzero

bzero:
        push   ebp            ;
        mov    ebp, esp     ; Stack Frame
        mov eax, [ebp+8]  ; Move address of pointer into eax
        mov ecx, [ebp+12] ; Move length into ecx
.loop:
       cmp ecx, 0            ; Is length zero?
       je .done                ; Yep, jump to done.
       mov byte [eax], 0   ; Move a zero into the address referenced in eax.
       sub ecx, 1             ; Subtract 1 from length
       add eax, 1             ; Add one to address
       jmp .loop               ; Jump to the top of the loop
.done:
       pop ebp                 ; Restore Frame
       ret                     ; Return
#############################