Author Topic: How to map storage onto structs or other .bss items?  (Read 6826 times)

Offline JoeCoder

How to map storage onto structs or other .bss items?
« on: June 12, 2011, 05:40:28 PM »
Sorry if this question was answered already, I checked the forums and manual and couldn't find what I am wondering about. If I did find it I didn't realize it.

Environment is Linux, UNIX, etc. where I understand there is no native storage allocation provided by the OS other than yanking around with the storage break [gag me with a spoon, dude!]

So if I want to declare a mapping for some storage, I guess we could call it a structure even though I am not a C programmer because I see there is support in NASM's macro facility for generating structures. There are several things about this I don't get. Is section .bss the right place to put these mappings or is there some other section for pure mappings that is more appropriate?

Now we have the right section and the structure defined the way we want. We allocate some storage by some mysterious method and we have the address of this storage in a general purpose register. How do I code references to that storage using the desired mapping(s)? Thank you.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 06:09:36 PM by JoeCoder »
If you can't code it in assembly, it can't be coded!

Offline Frank Kotler

• NASM Developer
Re: How to map storage onto structs or other .bss items?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 07:11:38 PM »
I don't know why sys_brk makes you gag - try it with a swallow of beer. :) You could also use sys_mmap (to an anonymous object) to allocate some memory on-the-fly. Of course, libc and its malloc() are sitting in memory waiting to be used, if you care to (I take it you don't).