NASM Forum > Using NASM

LEA or MOV

(1/3) > >>

munair:
I'm fairly new to NASM. I began using it more than a year ago for a 32bits compiler (sharpbasic.com).

Going over some 32 bits code, I found two ways to get the address of a string to be printed, i.e. both give the same output. What I used so far is:

--- Code: ---  ' address of string buffer
  emittl("mov     ebx, _sb_buf11")
  ' convert integer to string (expect address in ebx)
  emittl("call    _sb_intstr")
  ' print
  emittl("call    _sb_print")

--- End code ---

But to obtain the address of the string buffer LEA works as well:

--- Code: ---emittl("lea     ebx, dword [_sb_buf11]")

--- End code ---

Which is the better approach?

fredericopissarra:
It depends on the mode. In x86-64 mode LEA is smaller and with less colateral effects then MOV to obtain the address of an object in .data, .bss or .rodata sections because uses RIP relative addresses. This:

--- Code: ---  mov rax,x   ; puts the address of x in RAX
  lea  rax,[x]  ; same thing...
--- End code ---
Both instructions have REX prefix because of their target (RAX), but the linear address of 'x' must be known in runtime and, since it is a 64 bits value, `mov rax,x` is encoded as a 10 bytes instruction (48 B8 for `mov eax`, plus 8 bytes for the address). 'LEA' is different here... '[ x ]' is usually encoded as a RIP relative address, so only 32 bits of the offset is encoded in the instruction and, since the address is relative to the address of the next instruction, no relocation is needed (the 'x' in MOV is encoded as a constant that must be added to the program base address, which is known only after the image is loaded... consider ASLR, for example!). 'LEA', here, is encoded only in 7 bytes, putting less pressure on L1I cache and internal reordering buffer of the processor (and prefetch queue).

So... LEA is preferable in x86-64 mode to get the address of static objects. In i386 mode (32 bits) it makes no difference.

munair: